2017: My Year in Review

So the new year is finally (or already, depending on how you look at it) over, and it’s that time when I choose to reflect on my past year.  Most of the time I do this by posting collages, writing long passages, and creating a “New Years Resolutions” chart for myself… but this year I thought it might be fun to do something a little different!  I wanted to share a little bit about my year with you, but wasn’t sure how to do it – until I found this list of questions to use!  My year wasn’t exciting enough to sit here and type out paragraphs on paragraphs for you to read – but I think this will be interesting!  So – lets get started!

Starting off with questions to help me reflect on the past year…

1. If you had to describe your 2017 in three words, what would they be?

  • Adventure, growth, and strength.  Overall, this was a year of building for me.  It was a year of testing myself to try new things, to push myself in new ways, and to better myself.  I hope to continue this strength throughout the next year.

DSC_0107

 

2. What, or who, are you most thankful for?

  • I don’t think I could ever narrow this down to one person.  I am thankful for my family – for continuing to love me despite how hard I make it, and how many things try to tear us apart.  For my boyfriend – who is my best friend and the love of my life, who I absolutely adore and don’t know what I would do without.  For my friends – who even though I may not see as much as I like, are ALWAYS there when I need them no matter what.

3. What new things did you discover about yourself?

  • I think the biggest thing I discovered this year was my strength; not only physically, but mentally as well.  My strength was tested many times this year, but I chose to never give up.  It was another year of highs and lows regarding my depression and anxiety, but I’m continuing to learn what works/what doesn’t.  I pushed my body in new ways, and it’s continuing to progress.

4. What single achievement are you most proud of?

  • This would have to be completing my first semester at a university, so big it frightens me every day, as an English major.  I may have gone to ISU straight out of high school and royally screwed up, but this time was different.  I’m so proud of myself for pushing myself and not giving up, or letting past mistakes define me.  Completing my Associates Degree is also included in this for sure!

5. What was the best news you received?

  • This one ties into #4; being when I was accepted to the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis as an English major.  It started a journey that I will be forever grateful for!

6. What was your favorite place you visited?

  • I’m sure this one won’t surprise anyone – Lincoln, Nebraska.  I always love our yearly family trip to Lincoln for a Husker football game.  Lincoln is seriously one of my favorite places ever, and so is Memorial Stadium!  Counting down the days until I get to go back (Go Big Red!)!

7. Which of your personal qualities turned out to be the most helpful this year?

  • My big heart.  I continued to love and give and grow, despite any downfalls.  I tried my best to be more loving and grateful towards those around me, and I do believe my personality got me far this year.

8. Which new skills did you learn?

  • In March I went to an all day training – and finally got certified in POUND!  Becoming a Pound Pro is easily one of my biggest highlights of the year.  Not only has it pushed my body and mind in new ways, but it has brought me into one of the most supportive, inspiring, and loving communities I could ever ask for!

20429986_10155104489493026_7945886472141472104_n

9. What five people did you most enjoy spending time with?

  • Cody, Michelle, Emily, my puppies, and my family (yes I’m cheating by clumping my family into one!).  I spent a lot of time with a lot of amazing people this year.

10. How did your relationship to your family evolve?

  • Honestly, my relationship with my family has been changing for the past two years (when my parents split up)… and I still struggle, especially around the holidays.  The positive of this situation is it brings us closer together, it reminds us to lean on and support each other.  Although this year brought more trials, it still strengthened my relationship with each of them.

11. What was the best compliment that you received this year?

  • The best compliment I received this year was from a customer at work – she told me I had the most beautiful light in my eyes, that my personality radiated love and positivity, and that me serving her made the day better.  I’m sure she had no idea how much her saying all of that impacted me, but I am incredibly grateful for her kind words.

12. What little things did you most enjoy during your daily life?

  • Although I actually did enjoy the routine of school, I also loved my mornings off!  I enjoyed being able to wake up, have a cup of coffee, and relax with my puppies!  We went on many more walks this year than last, and it was great for all of us!

13. What new habits did you cultivate?

  • This developed more so in the second half of the year – but definitely getting myself to move more, and also getting the hang of meal prep!  I made conscious decisions to move more during the day – so instead of laying in bed and watching Netflix, I would get up and walk the dogs or clean my room!  And the meal prepping still needs some work, but it has definitely improved!

14. What had the biggest positive impact on your life this year?

  • This one has to go to my boyfriend… I just can’t go a minute without thinking about him, and I can’t fall asleep at night without realizing how grateful I am for him.  He continues to surprise me, to push me, to better me, and to love me.  He is my biggest fan, and I am his biggest supporter.  This year we celebrated one year together!  It was the coolest experience for me, and I love that we are still growing together.

15. Was there anything you did for the first time in your life?

  • Canoeing!  I’m sure most of you have been before – but I haven’t.  This summer I went with Cody and his family, and had the best time!!  We laughed until our stomachs hurt and we got so much sun 🙂  Seriously one of my favorite days!

IMG_3655

16. What was your favorite moment spent with friends?

  • It was a simple thing – but there was this night after months of not being able to see each other, that I finally got to hang out with my twinny!  We went to Applebees, got spinach dip (OF COURSE), ordered the same thing, and talked for hours!  I just remember it being MUCH needed.  No matter how much time goes between us seeing each other, nothing ever changes.

17. What major goal did you lay the foundation for?

  • Attaining my Bachelor’s degree.  In the spring I finally graduated from Riverland Community College with my Associates Degree in Liberal Arts.  After that I stepped up and applied to a university to work towards my Bachelor’s degree.  Although I don’t have a definite career plan yet – I know I’m working towards it, and that’s important.

18. What experience would you love to do all over again?

  • I’m not going to lie – if I could do POUND training again, I totally would!  It was such a fun day full of learning and sweating!  I learned so much and I challenged myself in a new way.

19. How did your overall outlook on life change?

  • Overall, I would say that I finally came to the conclusion that I have to make conscious decisions for myself.  I have to stop making decisions based on what others need, or maybe expect me to do.  I was done taking so much shit from others.  If you don’t, can’t, or won’t support me, you can leave.  I have no more time for toxic people or relationships in my life, and that feels good.

20. What do you deserve a pat on the back for?

  • For simply not giving up.  Depression and anxiety is a real bitch – and it can hit you when you least expect it.  You’ll be really good for awhile, and then you’ll fall into this deep hole without knowing how you got there or how to get out.  Sometimes it can get scary, sometimes you feel like no one understands – but despite how much it hurt, I didn’t give up.

And 2018 – looking forward:

1. What do you want the overarching theme for your 2018 to be?

  • Inspiration.  Not only do I want to inspire others, but I also want to inspire myself.  I want to be braver, bolder, and stronger.  I hope to open up more and put myself out there.  I hope to consistently remind others they are not alone, and be there for those who need me.  I hope to inspire myself to work harder, to be better, and to accomplish more.

2. What do you want to see, discover, explore?

  • I want to see the world.  I want to travel more, and get out of this small town!  I want to take advantage of that beautiful campus I’m on two times a week, and explore more.  Not only do I want to gain a little perspective, but I want to discover new things and see new places.

3. Who do you want to spend more time with in 2018?

  • Two people I really want to spend more time with this year are my best friend and my boyfriend.  My best friend and I are currently both working and in school, but I’m hoping we are able to find more time for each other this year!  Our time together is so freaking precious anymore.  And, of course, I want to spend more time with my sweets!!  Adventures, cuddles, kisses, love – all of it!

4. What skills do you want to learn, improve, or master?

  • American Sign Language.  In the fall I started learning sign language for my two year second language requirement for school.  Learning ASL has been a goal of mine for a very long time – and it’s so cool I’m finally getting to learn it!  The first semester flew by, and they went WAY too fast for me.  I’m hoping to better master these skills this year and really start utilizing it!

5. Which personal quality do you want to develop or strengthen?

  • My intelligence.  I want to work extremely hard in my classes, and push myself to do better in school than I ever have.  I plan to not sell myself short, but instead realize how smart I am capable of becoming.

6. Which habits do you want to change, cultivate or get rid of?

  • One habit I would love to change is emotional/binge eating.  Overall, I want to eat healthier this year… but I would love to find other ways to deal with my emotions rather than using food.  Unfortunately, it’s easy for me to overeat when I’m feeling down or depressed, but I don’t want to do that any more.  I want to find healthier outlets.

7. What do you want to achieve career-wise?

  • I wouldn’t say I necessarily have a career yet… but I would like to improve as a fitness instructor.  I hope to learn and become certified in at least one new class this year.  I hope to better help my students and motivate both them and myself.  I also hope to grow this blog!  I want to gain more followers and continue posting!

8. What is your number one goal for 2018?

  • My #1 goal for 2018 is to FINALLY feel comfortable in my own skin.  There has never once been a time in my life when I have been comfortable with my body, and that disappoints me big time.  Weight loss is my main focus – but I haven’t put a number on it, mostly because I believe the scale has the potential to be a filthy liar.  I could say I want to lose 50 pounds, but maybe by 30 I’ll have changed my mind because I will have lost fat but gained muscle.  Here’s the thing – I want a big booty, a flat stomach, and strong arms and legs.  Whatever that number is on the scale, that’s what I want.  We’ll just have to see how goes – but I KNOW I’m going to get there this time!

 

I hope you enjoyed my year in review – and maybe you want to answer these questions for yourself!  Looking ahead, I’m hoping for a great year of growth and positivity.  I hope to continue being surrounded by friends and family!  I hope you are able to set some goals for yourself as well – and work hard to achieve them.  Cheers to a brand new beginning!

 

Leave a comment